GROW MOTHERFUCKER GROW!

Every time I start something new, I’m terrible at it.

Not only am I bad, but I’m typically far below the average amongst all the peers who start along side me. This used to fuck with my head when growing up, but I’ve learned that when I commit to something, I typically end up becoming more than above average in the long run.

That’s my process.

Start something, then just steadily push on until the momentum of progress is on my side.

I constantly find examples of this in all the jobs that I’ve ever had. I always start off making a ton of mistakes, not finding the flow, and always looking for direction. Then, after a prolonged period of that, I catch my stride and start to kill it.

In Carol Dweck’s book “Mindset,” Dweck discusses the difference between a growth mindset and a fixed mindset.

In a fixed mindset, people believe their basic qualities, like their intelligence or talent, are simply fixed traits. They spend their time documenting their intelligence or talent instead of developing them. They also believe that talent alone creates success—without effort. They’re wrong.

In a growth mindset, people believe that their most basic abilities can be developed through dedication and hard work—brains and talent are just the starting point. This view creates a love of learning and a resilience that is essential for great accomplishment. Virtually all great people have had these qualities.

-An excerpt from http://www.MindsetOnline.com

I bring this up because I can’t stand people who have fixed mindsets, especially if they’re in positions in which their authority directly affects me.

Why? Because I’m always terrible when I start something.

I mean, I’m fine with that because I know that it’s only a matter of time until I become amazing, but try telling that to someone with a fixed mindset. It’s a discussion that wouldn’t be taken seriously, nor would it ever come up naturally.

Many people have natural aptitudes towards certain skills, but it’s foolish to think that those without such natural aptitudes are forever hopeless. Those who have a harder grind towards reaching a decent level of competence for a specific skillset will eventually have the upperhand on those who don’t.

I’m always trying new things and because of that, I’m always finding myself in positions where I’m not as good as those who are around me. This gives me much more respect for the people who try something new, accept the struggle, and push on with endless enthusiasm and curiosity.

I also have endless respect for those who are patient with those who are learning. It’s not just the patience that I admire, but you can tell when someone is helping you because they really believe that you are more than capable of the tasks at hand.

At anytime in life, you’ll undoubtedly find yourself in either of these positions.

Sometimes you’ll be the teacher, and other times you’ll be the pupil. If you find yourself as the teacher, praise hard work ethic and have patience with any mistakes. Make an effort to really believe in people and show that to them.

If you find yourself as the student, work hard as fuck and try not to make the same mistakes too often. Ask a ton of questions and don’t let your mistakes or shortcomings deter you from pushing on and getting better.

Everyone has a process. Don’t be a fixed mindset asshole.

 

 

Leave a Reply

