BE SELFISH

If you want to be able to give anything of any worth back to the world, you need to be selfish.

Scour any social media platform, and you’ll find thousands of young men and women who are steadfast on their altruistic worldviews. It may seem like these people have great intentions for others, but most of them aren’t even able to help themselves.

It sounds counterintuitive, but it makes perfect sense.

If you genuinely what to help people, you need to spend incredible amounts of time developing your personal value before you can become a source of value for anyone else. There’s just no way you could lift anyone up if you aren’t even able to stand on your own two feet.

The impatient eagerness to make an impact on the world, accompanied by a heaping dose of naivety and inexperience, will do nothing but propagate an unauthentic mixture of regurgitated bullshit.

Never start speaking to others before you’ve found your voice. And even when you’ve found your voice, you need to make sure that you have something worth listening to.

The only way to do this is to undertake massive amounts of experience.

  • Undergoing new experiences and learning through success and failure is the only way you can objectively learn about yourself, grow, and develop into someone of legitimate value.

This blog is how I plan on doing that for myself.

I refuse to be the “idea collector” that can only give value by digesting and regurgitating the information that I consume (and did not create nor enrich). I want to become a source of new information and novel insight based on my personal experiences, all of which I will be documenting on this blog.

That doesn’t mean I won’t regularly be reading books, watching videos, or looking for mentors. It just means that the content I produce will first be rooted in my personal experience, and second, enriched by the information I consume.

As much as I want to bend over and help people now, I know I could help more people by spending this time becoming more rigid and strong for myself.

Leave a Reply

