A beautiful wall with an impressive 20ft long line of urine.

MAKE GOOD ART

So let’s cut the bullshit.

I was reading my last few posts and it made my butthole cringe. Those posts are definitely not the direction that I’m heading towards.

This blog is not going to be your typical blog where I’m going to write some bullshit click bait title and then drop some kind of profound bomb of insight on your ass as I quietly and contently feel proud of my long winded, boring ass analogies.

I was doing some research (and by research, I mean wasting time watching  youtube videos of successful self-anointed lifestyle gurus) and here are a few of my key feelings about the difference between good content and not-so-good content.

GOOD CONTENT

  • Good content is concise and makes complicated things simple.
  • It’s free flowing, natural and passionate.
  • I would describe it as both the person who created the content and me, the viewer, were both riding the same awesome wave together.

NOT-SO-GOOD CONTENT

  • It sounds convoluted, contrived and try hard.
  • It’s full of weird voice inflections and unnatural expressions.
  • It’s more focused on the what the person was trying to tell me, as opposed to “going along for the ride.”
  • It feels like I was having information presented and pushed onto me.

I don’t give a fuck about being some kind of internet guru. I don’t care much about becoming a motivational speaker or life coach. I just really like the art of great content and how it makes me feel. I want to be a creator of such “good art” at some point, and I think that documenting my process with this blog would be a great way to share my struggles while doing so.

I want to be a creator of great art at some point, but I think that the art of creating legitimate value in the form of consumable content is already being lost to the shitty world of sales and marketing before it even gets the chance of solidifying itself into a respectable creative medium.

From this point onwards, I will make an effort to NOT pander to the widest audience for any kind of ego boosting recognition.

“And when things get tough, this is what you should do.

Make good art.

I’m serious. Husband runs off with a politician? Make good art. Leg crushed and then eaten by mutated boa constrictor? Make good art. IRS on your trail? Make good art. Cat exploded? Make good art. Somebody on the Internet thinks what you do is stupid or evil or it’s all been done before? Make good art. Probably things will work out somehow, and eventually time will take the sting away, but that doesn’t matter. Do what only you do best. Make good art.

Make it on the good days too.”

Neil Gaiman, Make Good Art <<<watch this speech if you haven’t already!

I know my past few posts aren’t terrible, but it’s far from my flavor of good art just yet.

I need to keep on creating. I need to keep building momentum and I need to be brave enough to make a ton of mistakes.

I’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

